Posted in #30dayblog, Guest Blogs

You can enjoy blogging for Business too! – Guest Post by Ruth


This is a guest post by Ruth Seba, a fellow #30dayblog challenger from Croatia. I recently wrote a guest post for her site here and she wanted to return the favour by writing one for me, so here it is – hope you like it đŸ™‚

My husband and I recently (June 2011) opened a small store in Korcula, Croatia where we sell beautiful handcrafted filigree jewellery alongside of a small selection of Fair Trade products from Nepal and Croatian made gifts and souvenirs. It is a slightly eclectic mix but the majority of visitors to our shop compliment us on the how nice the store looks, even if they don’t buy anything!

Opening a new business in a foreign country has been daunting, exciting and we have learnt a lot! As our short tourist season draws to a close we are able to close the shop an hour or so early in the evenings 10pm instead or 11, I must admit that I am quite happy to be stepping down to a 13 hour day after working 7 days/week for 14 hours a day!

Although the season is short it has been exhausting, I am finding that I am now spending more and more time on-line than I ever dreamed I could as I try and work out how we can share our Seba Dizajn story with a wider audience and hopefully generate some out of season income!

I have surprised myself with how much I have enjoyed the blogging aspect of our Social Media ‘campaign’ and delighted to be given this chance to be a guest blogger….

I have also been pleasantly surprised by the vast amount of information and advice that is available to beginners like me.  If you have been contemplating starting a blog I say go for it! It’s free and easy and there is as much advice as you care to find available and make use of, here are a couple of links that I have found helpful;

This first link is for people who are thinking that starting a blog will be too hard for them, Leigh’s advice is practical, smart and easy to follow – have a look;

http://www.leighquantrill.com/wordpress-for-beginners-how-to-write-a-post/

This article is interesting if you are thinking about or already writing a more ‘personal’ style of blog;

http://howtowritebetter.net/how-to-write-a-personal-blog-everyone-will-love/

For young bloggers have a look at Sharon’s earlier piece on young bloggers she had found interesting. This blog is by a 16 year old fashion lover, her blog is full of beautiful photos;

http://clothescamerasandcoffee.blogspot.com/

Another useful link is to Nikki Pilkington and her series of 30 Day Challenges, you will find free and practical advice to help with your blogging, tweeting, facebook pages, ad-words and more;

http://www.nikkipilkington.com/

If you are interested in learning more about our jewellery business, life in Croatia along with assorted other ramblings stop by my blog too; www.sebasilver.wordpress.com or look for us on facebook where we have full selection of photos of our filigree jewellery and a lot of Croatia photos.

www.facebook.com/SebaDizajn

Thank you for reading!  If you have enjoyed reading this post please share it with others who may be interested and I always enjoy receiving feedback and comments đŸ™‚

Author:

Self-published author whose first book Coffee Break Companion, a collection of short stories and poems is now available on Amazon. S.L.Grigg lives in Bromsgrove with her family. Working in the NHS and enjoying reading, Pilates and travel, amongst other things when she isn't too busy writing.

3 thoughts on “You can enjoy blogging for Business too! – Guest Post by Ruth

Leave a comment